The Herd: New hires, promotions & departures for 2.16.21

Email submissions to [email protected]


Thomas Bendel, head of school for Sabot at Stony Point, has announced his retirement, effective June 30. Shannon Montague is the interim head of school.

Real Estate

Kristen Ryan has joined the marketing and design team at Thalhimer. She had been with CreativeMktGroup and is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University.

Paige Bryan has joined Shaheen, Ruth, Martin & Fonville Real Estate as a Realtor.

Marye Cole has joined Mission Realty at eXp as a sales partner.

Amy Heuay, Lou Anderson, Brian Rivers and Bryan Richardson joined Keller Williams Richmond West.


Patrick T. Black has joined Cary Street Partners as senior compliance manager. He had been with Harris Williams and is a graduate of Virginia Tech.


George Karalus has joined The Roseline Group as an associate.


The University of Richmond reports the following promotions:

Rebecca Buffington is director of admission for recruiting and marketing.

Lindsey Monacell is director of admission for operations.


Tyler Young has joined CarLotz as a recruiter and is a graduate of Old Dominion University.


Joining Hue&Cry:

Trish Janovic is senior designer.

Luis Roca is art director.


Darnetta Daire and Jay Stoda have joined the board of directors for the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Richmond. Daire is with US Ostomy. Stoda is with DPR Construction.

The 2021 board of directors for Market Ashland Partnership: past president Chris “Big Z” Zaldivar with Hometown Realty; president, Johnathan Mosley with Edward Jones; president-elect, Natalie Toalson McNamara with CreativeMktGroup; secretary, Janet Thorn with Omni Park Place Senior Apartments; treasurer, Scott Geller with Capitis Advisors; and vice president, Trey Flanagan with Coldwell Banker Dew Realty Inc.

The Virginia Chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation: the 2021 board and officers: chair, Trib Sutton; vice chair, Will Boland; vice chair elect, Jane duFrane; immediate past chair, Andrea Harlow. Board members: Genevieve Alley, Erica Collins, David Constine, Jinx Constine, Paul Edelman, Heather Harvey, Andy Mathews, Mac Marshall, Phil Morris, Matt Myers, Stuart Myers, Laura Reitmeier, Dr. Michael S. Schechter, Dr. Joel Schmidt, Elain Sutton, Amanda Weiner and Joe Williams. The Young Professionals Leadership Council:
chair, Worth Bugg; vice chair, Kate Schiefelbein; and vice chair elect, Kevin Wilson; Saman Aghaebrahim, Percy Blackburn, Ella Balasa, Josh Boulhuis, Emma Bruny, Inna Burroughs, Sarah File, Callie Guy, Harrison McVey, Ali Moore, Tom Narvaez, Bryce Robertson, Dr. Robert Schmidt, Sara Sloman and Catherine Walker.


The Virginia Restaurant, Lodging & Travel Association reports the following promotions:

Jim Wilson is vice president of education and workforce development.

Brittany Wojdyla is senior director of membership and marketing.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments