The Herd: Promotions, new hires and departures for 6.25.13


Dominion announced the following departures:

Gary L. Sypolt will retire Sept. 1 as executive vice president of Dominion and chief executive of its Dominion Energy business unit.

Charles D. “Doug” Holley will retire as vice president of fossil and hydro system operations of the Dominion Generation business unit.

Thomas R. Bean will retire as vice president of financial management of Dominion Generation.

Joseph G. O’Hare will retire as vice president of financial management of the Dominion Virginia Power business unit.

Christine M. Schwab, vice president and chief compliance and risk officer, will leave the company with plans to start a risk advisory practice.

Laura Boone

Laura Boone

Human resources

Laura Boone joins the Titan Group as principal. She brings human resources and organization development experience from manufacturing, retailing, government, health care, academic and nonprofit organizations. She received a bachelor’s from Purdue University and a master’s from Virginia Commonwealth University.

The Chesterfield Observer has hired longtime Richmond area journalist Scott Bass as editor. Bass was most recently the news editor at Style Weekly, and he previously worked as editor of the Richmond edition of Inside Business. Bass is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University.

Dean Herbstreit

Dean Herbstreit


Dean Herbstreit has joined Lerch Bates’s Richmond office as a project manager. Herbstreit, who studied at Regis University, was previously a sales executive for Pevco.

Impact Makers announced the following hires:

Richard Bopp joined the company as a lead consultant. He was previously a project lead for the governance and internal verification and validation process at the Defense Department’s Defense Logistics Agency.

Deidre Tompkins

Deidre Tompkins

George Givens joined Impact Makers as a lead consultant. Givens was previously a managing partner at Agile Associates.

Mark Van Roekel joined Impact Makers as a lead consultant. Van Roekel was previously COO at Bandyworks, a software development firm.

Deidre Tompkins joined Impact Makers as a senior consultant. Deidre has served on the Virginia board of directors for the Information Systems Audit and Control Association since 2008, including two terms as president.

Viveca Wright

Viveca Wright

Viveca Wright joined Impact Makers as controller. Wright’s experience includes financial management at consulting firms, Fortune 500 transportation and credit card companies, and accounting firms.

KLMK Group announced the following hires:

Ed James joined KLMK as an associate consultant. James was previously an assistant production manager for Amendia in Marietta, Ga. He is a graduate of Auburn University.

Ed James

Ed James

Will Sutphin

Will Sutphin

William Sutphin joined KLMK as an associate consultant. Sutphin was previously an associate consultant at Marsh Risk Consulting in Washington. He is a Virginia Tech graduate.

Cory Alexander joined KLMK as an intern. He is pursuing a degree in industrial and systems engineering from Virginia Tech.

Bowman Consulting announced the following hires:

Savannah Amor joined Bowman Consulting as transportation project engineer. Amor was previously employed at Woolpert Engineering and is a graduate of Virginia Tech.

Colleen Smith

Colleen Smith

Colleen Smith joined Bowman Consulting as business development manager. Smith will coordinate business development and marketing efforts for the firm. She brings with her more than 15 years of experience and was previously employed with Froehling & Robertson.

Virginia Roach joined Bowman Consulting for a summer internship to support the firm’s civil engineering efforts. Roach is a junior at Virginia Tech.

Brian Pulsifer joined Bowman Consulting for a summer internship. Following his graduation this summer at Virginia Tech, he will return to Bowman as a full-time project engineer.


Gary R. Shook has been named chairman of the Virginia Bankers Association. Shook is the president and chief executive of Middleburg Bank and an alumnus of the University of Virginia.

John R. Milleson, president & chief executive of the Bank of Clarke County, has been named chairman-elect of the Virginia Bankers Association. As chairman-elect, his is slated to become the association’s chairman in 2014. Milleson is a graduate of Bridgewater College and Shenandoah University.


Winslow & McCurry added Stephen A. Mutnick as counsel in its Midlothian office. Mutnick was an assistant commonwealth’s attorney in Henrico with more than six years of prosecutorial experience.


The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa hired Steve Kendall as general manager. Kendall has been in the Richmond market for more than 15 years. He has managed a variety of brands, including Marriott, Starwood, Choice, Hyatt and Hilton.

Higher education

Virginia Commonwealth University appointed William E. King to be the new university ombudsperson effective Aug. 1. King has served as ombudsman at the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth since 2006 and is a graduate of Emporia State University.

Virginia Commonwealth University named Hong Cheng director of its school of mass communications. Cheng was previously a tenured professor of journalism at Ohio University. He is a graduate of Pennsylvania State University and Shanghai International Studies University.


Kemel “Kem” Blue Jr. has been named vice president and general manager of Short Pump Town Center. Blue previously served as vice president of operations for Forest City Enterprises’ Denver/Central region.


Hunter Applewhite has been named president of the Dominion Foundation and director of community affairs. Applewhite joined Dominion in 1996 and was previously associate director of the Richmond Community Foundation. He is a Washington and Lee University graduate.


The Virginia Association of Independent Specialized Education Facilities, a statewide association of private day school and residential treatment centers for students with disabilities, announced its 2013-14 board of directors:

Ronald K. Spears of Elk Hill (Goochland) will serve as president.

Gary L. Jones of Youth for Tomorrow (Bristow) will serve as vice president.

Karen B. Tompkins of Timber Ridge School (Winchester) will serve as secretary.

James E. McGee of Rivermont School (Lynchburg) will serve as treasurer.

James G. Gaynor II of Grafton Integrated Health Network (Winchester) will serve as past president.

Warren G. Bull of Specialized Youth Services of Virginia (Petersburg) will serve as accreditation chair.

Kimberly L. Sanders of Grafton Integrated Health Network (Winchester) will serve as health and safety chair.

Mark P. Mellusi of the Discovery School of Virginia (Dillwyn) will serve as membership recruitment chair.

Brian Summo of Rivermont School – Alleghany Highlands (Covington) will serve as membership services chair.

Amy L. Hartswick of the Kellar School of Inova Kellar Center (Fairfax) will serve as quality services chair.

D. Grey Martin of the Barry Robinson Center (Virginia Beach) will serve as ways and means chair.

Sheila Y. Green of Metropolitan Day School of AES (Richmond) will serve as an at-large director.

Brendan Folmar of Charterhouse School (Richmond) will serve as an at-large director.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of