The Herd: New hires, promotions and departures for 6.13.17


Craig Toalson is retiring as chief executive officer of the Home Building Association of Richmond, effective July 1. He has held the office since 2011. Danna Markland will become chief Executive officer upon his retirement. She had been with the Chesterfield Chamber of Commerce.


Caitlin Riccobono has joined Nixon Law Group as counsel. She focuses her practice in healthcare, including risk management, privacy and security, fraud and abuse, provider/payor/patient contracts, and licensing matters. She is a graduate of the University of Richmond School of Law.


Robert H. Cassada and Ned Witthoefft have joined First Tennessee Bank. Cassada is senior vice president, private client services. He had been with Wells Fargo and is a graduate of Virginia Tech. Witthoefft is vice president, small business relationship manager. He had been with SunTrust Mortgage and is a graduate of James Madison University.

Bobby Vincent Jr.

Bobby Vincent Jr.


Bobby Vincent Jr. is director of the Richmond Department of Public Works. He had been the deputy director of operations.

Real Estate

At Long & Foster Real Estate:

John VanderSyde is manager of the Strawberry Street office.

Patrick Sanford to its Tuckahoe office.

Joining Dodson Property Management:

Paula Namola is property manager at Franklin Lofts/Plant 1.

Estela Fuentes is property manager at Gerwyn Manor.

Frederick Mayer is maintenance technician.

Kelly Sparks and Steven Quinn are assistant property managers.

Lorna Battles

Lorna Battles


Lorna Battles is the general manager of Four Points by Sheraton Richmond.


Josh Parsley has been named vice president, truckload brokerage with Estes Forwarding Worldwide. He had been with Celadon Group and has degrees from Hampden-Sydney College and Longwood University.


David Caras has joined Kinsale Insurance Co. as an associate underwriter. He is a graduate of Virginia Tech.

Bill Slate

Bill Slate


Bill Slate is assistant vice president of information technology for the Greater Richmond ARC. He had been with Synergy Technical.

The new officers and board of directors for Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants Educational Foundation are: chair, Thomas Crutchfield of Burdette Smith & Bish in Fairfax; and chair elect is Randy Spurrier of Old Dominion University; vice chairs, Nicholas Harrison of Dixon Hughes Goodman and Heather Flanagan of KPMG in Washington; secretary/treasurer and vice president of member and public relations, Tina Lambert Bates.  At-large Board members include: O. Whitfield Broome of the University of Virginia School of Law in Charlottesville; Michael K. Crichton of Burdette Smith & Bish in Fairfax; Scott D. Davis in Vienna; Brian Deibler of Malvin Riggins & Co. in Newport News; Christopher D. Ekimoff of Resolution Economics in Washington; Chris Enright of Christopher A. Enright in Montpelier; Diane D. Guensberg of KPMG in Washington; Clare K. Levison of Alliant Techsystems Inc. in Radford; Kevin S. Matthews of Beta Solutions CPA in Reston; Carolyn Menzie in Ashburn; Melanie Randall of McKinney & Ashland; John M. Waters of Wall, Einhorn & Chernitzer in Norfolk; and Donna P. Yenney of Tredegar Corp. in Richmond.

Officers and board of trustees for the Virginia Society of CPAs Political Action Committee are: chair, Larry J. Hunt; vice-chair, Roy L. Emmons II of Bruce, Renner & Co in Winchester; secretary/treasurer, Stephanie Peters with the Virginia Society of CPAs. Board members are: Charles A. Bish with Burdette Smith & Bish in Fairfax; Bradford R. Jones with PBMares of Fredericksburg; Gregory B. McChesney with HMR Funding in Midlothian; T. Brett Sinsabaugh of Keiter; Barbara L. Smith of Cherry Bekaert in Virginia Beach; Gary R. Thomson of Dixon Hughes Goodman; James K. Walker with Cherry Bekaert; and Hal L. Young of Young Accountancy Group in Fairfax.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of