The Herd: New hires, promotions & departures for 1.29.19

For submissions please email [email protected]


David Buckley, executive vice president and chief legal officer for Apple Hospitality REIT, is retiring, effective April 15. Matthew Rash will be join the company as senior vice president and general counsel, effective March 18. Rash is currently with McGuireWoods.


Simone Williams has joined Harman Claytor Corrigan & Wellman as an associate. She focuses her practice on civil litigation defense.

At KPM Law:

W. Barry Montgomery has become a shareholder.

James “Lee” Hoyle has been promoted to partner.


Caitlin McBride is business development manager with Dominion Construction Partners.

Haley Mitchell is manager, marketing and workforce development, for Capital Interior Contractors. She is a graduate of Longwood University.

Real Estate

Ryan Fanelli, Jamie Galanti, and John Mason have been named partners with Commonwealth Commercial Partners. Fanelli is first vice president in the brokerage division. Galanti is senior vice president in brokerage. Mason is managing director of the asset management division.


Maria Dickinson has been promoted to senior vice president with TowneBank. She is in treasury sales with the Gateway location.


At Commonwealth Architects:

Shari Perago has been named a stockholder. She is the director of interior design.

Shannon Mackenzie is marketing coordinator. She had been with Arcosanti in Arizona and is a graduate of Tufts University.

Investment Banking

At Matrix Capital Markets Group:

John Duni is a senior associate in the downstream energy and convenience retail group.

Honor Carver has been promoted to director of marketing and communications. She had been marketing manager.

Kelly Simons is assistant director of marketing and communications. She had been manager of administrative services for the downstream energy and convenience retail group.


Fernando Metcalf has joined the board of directors for Cardinal Newman Academy. He is with Movement Mortgage.

Business Services

Brooke Fuhrman has joined Gateway Healthcare Professionals as the business office manager.

Advocacy Groups

At the 2019 board of directors for the Virginia Chamber of Commerce: chair, Charlie Meyer with O’Hagan Meyer; vice chair, Paige Clay with Mercer; immediate past chair, Suzy Kelly with Jo-Kell; and treasurer, Alan Witt with PBMares. At-large: Vince Ammann with WGL Holdings,Ben Davenport with First Piedmont; John Dooley with Virginia Tech Foundation; Kent Farmer with Rappahannock Electric Cooperative; Jim Kibler with Virginia Natural Gas; Chris Kyle with Shentel; Julie Maloy with State Farm Insurance; Eric Sisco with Virginia International Gateway; Fred Thompson with Thompson Hospitality; and Lakshmi Williams with Transurban. Joining the board are: John Backus with; Sonia Galindo with Rosetta Stone; Krissy Gathright with Apple Hospitality REIT; Quinn Graeff with Medical Facilities of America; Thomas A. “Tag” Greason with QTS; Mark Hourigan with Hourigan; J. William Karbach with Branch Group; Brian Kearney with Kearney & Co.; Elizabeth Kersey with PRA Group; Stewart Leeth with Smithfield Foods; Christopher Lloyd with McGuireWoods Consulting; Brian Moore with Amazon; Nicholas Pace with Owens & Minor; James Reinhart with National Credit Care; Andrew Rome with CFA Institute; Susan Spears with Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce; and David Zolet with LMI.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments