The Herd: New hires, promotions & departures for 7.14.20

Email submissions to [email protected]


David Fisk, executive director of the Richmond Symphony, is leaving, effective Aug. 31. He is joining the Charlotte Symphony.


Carolyn A. White has been elected shareholder with ThompsonMcMullan.

Real Estate

Brad Lowry has joined SVN Cornerstone Commercial as a senior advisor focusing on tenant representation and self-storage investment sales. He has degrees from Virginia Commonwealth University and Virginia Tech. He had been with CoStar.

Joining Long & Foster Real Estate:

Dorothy Wassenberg joined the Hanover office.

Tristan Shropshire joined the Virginia Properties office.


Stacy Shaw is executive director for the Byrd Theatre. She had been with The National Theatre, Washington, D.C.


Bill Gilliam is director of business development for The Estate at River Run. He is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University.


Dr. John Phipps is chief executive officer for OrthoVirginia. He had been with Inova Health System.


Ali Greenberg joined Lighthouse Labs as outreach manager. She founded The Broad and is a graduate of Washington & Lee University.

Joining Davenport & Co.:

Mark Dillon is vice president – fixed income.

Frank Hock and Stephen Geisz are public finance analysts.


David Zeng joined Solvaria as a senior SQL server DBA.


The 2020-2021 board of directors for the ASK Childhood Cancer Foundation: vice president, Tim Cosgrove with Colonial Honda. Joining the board: Jimmy Ashworth with Decker; Meg Garner with VPM Media Corp.; and John Pfisterer with Edlio.

Sport Backers has restructured their executive leadership as follows:

Will Dixon is chief administrative officer. He had been director of sponsorship and development.

Scott Schricker is chief strategic implementation officer. He had been director of marketing.

Megan Schultz is chief operating officer. She had been director of events.

The following staff have been promoted:

Megan Capito is director of development. She had been development manager.

Meghan Keogh is director of events. She had been event director.

Lauren Millard is director of sponsorships. She had been sponsorship manager.

Ashlee Snider is director of marketing. She had been creative manager.


Joining Kinsale Insurance Co.:

Prashanth Gireddy is software development team lead in IT department.

John Eshler is underwriter technician-underwriting services. He is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University.


Bentley P. Chan has been appointed director of Henrico County’s Department of Public Utilities, effective July 18. He has been assistant director.

Members of Richmond’s Task Force to Reimagine Public Safety: Sgt. Carol Adams with the Richmond Police Department; Ram Bhagat with Richmond Public Schools; Glenwood Burley; Keisha Cummings with 2Love LLC; Torey Edmonds with Virginia Commonwealth University; Daryl Fraser with Virginia Commonwealth University; Triston Harris with Black Lives Matter; The Honorable Birdie Hairston Jamison; Councilman Michael Jones; Shanel Lewis with the city of Richmond; Brandon Lovee with Richmond Peace Team; Colette McEachin, Richmond Commonwealth Attorney; Rev. Dontae McCutchen with Love Cathedral Community Church: Lisa Moon with Virginia Union University: Sgt. Brad Nixon with the Richmond Police Department; Tracy Paner; and Bill Pantele; William Pelfrey with Virginia Commonwealth University; Councilwoman Ellen Robertson; Rodney Robinson with Richmond Juvenile Detention Center; Patrice Shelton with Hillside Court Partnership; Lashawnda Singleton with the Richmond Association of Black Social Workers; Sheba Williams with NoLef Turns; and Courtney Winston.

Business Services

Mark J. Hourigan is chairman of Go Virginia Grow Capital Jobs/Region Four.

John Luke Jr. is chairman of the Grow Capital Jobs Foundation.

Service Organizations

The 2020-2021 board of directors for the Midlothian Rotary Club are: president, Monica Marks with Wells Fargo Commercial Banking; president-elect, Mark Jones with Atlas 42; immediate past president, Beth Fitzwater with Singer Ashland; secretary, Ryan Blankenship with Davenport & Co.; executive secretary, Wayne Woodcock; treasurer, Richard McCullough; director of service, Glen Groat with Alliance Technology Group; director of social, Carmen Williams with Virginia Sexual & Domestic Violence Action Alliance; and director of membership, Fred Taylor with John Tyler Community College. Directors: Ward Currin with Virginia Commonwealth Bank; Greg Crews with Bartlett Tree Experts; and Randy Ellington with Richmond Alarm Co.


Amber Brooks is part-time account manager with Whittington Consulting.


The 2020-2021 board of directors for Richmond’s National Association of Women Business Owners: president, Sarah Sladek; past president, Lee Ann Pond; secretary/treasury, Dawn DeBoer; marketing chair, Channing Gibb; programs chair, Natalie T. McNamara; community outreach co-chairs, Morgan McCoy and Dawn Young; membership co-chairs, Tonya Futrell and Tracy Lewis.

The board of directors for The Greater Richmond Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association: chairman, Kelley Powell with MacLaurin Group; vice chairman, John Moreland with Northwestern Mutual. Joining the chapter board are Elizabeth Watkins with the U.S. Department of Justice and Catherine Vrentas with Pharmaceutical Product Development.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments